• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Search results

1. Knaight

An Open Letter to Implore You to Play Old Games

What the GM sells them on is pretty much what I was thinking, in practice. Sure, specific games get nixed if someone doesn't like them (which is why I probably won't get to run Warbirds despite my love for it, given that my little brother hates it for some reason) after a session or so, but at...
  2. Knaight

An Open Letter to Implore You to Play Old Games

This seems a bit overstated to me. Granted, I have an unusual degree of leeway because of how I built up a group, but if you've got a group willing to play not-D&D you've generally got a group willing to try a wide variety of games.
  3. Knaight

Opinions on Lindybeige history Youtube channel?

They're solid, but if you want a more nuanced opinion ask Arethusra. Red is her kid.
  4. Knaight

Does laissez-faire chargen bother you?

It depends on presentation. If the game writing fosters a culture of "players can use whatever options they damn well please", then yeah, I want all the options to make sense with what the game is going to do. If it's more "these are tools to make characters, see that you have an idea what...
  5. Knaight

Collectivizing Ownership of Hit Points

Torchbearer and Mouseguard both do this to an extent, so there's precedent. Beyond that I'd generally expect it to work, where you can even keep in dynamics like trying to direct attacks towards some characters instead of others by varying damage. From a simulationist perspective it gets really...
  6. Knaight

Challenge: how could these dice be used with d20 games?

You could use them as damage dice, as a sort of dice pool where you throw multiple dice and pick one aspect from each of them. The success/failure and Fudge die cases would need to be mapped to something, the other two are pretty obvious.