• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[4E] Encounter bulding advice, and recommended houserules

Kath

The Furthest Away
RPGnet Member
Validated User
I'm due to start running the War of the Burning Sky campaign, which looks pretty nifty. The fights in it are poorly converted from 3.5 though, e.g. putting a level 1 or 2 party versus a level 10 controller! I'm no expert at 4E encounter building, but even I know that that's crap. As I've never actually run 4E though, what advise would experienced GMs give on building fights? E.g. can a party routinely take level+2 encounters, what level solos should be put against the party, etc.

What houserules would people recommend? So far, my list is quite small:
* Inherant bonuses are on
* Free expertise feats
* All classes get the at least same number of trained skills (so the fighter is less sad)
* Long rests require a truly safe place to rest, e.g. Bree, Rivendell, Lothlorien.
Preference goes for houserules that are compatible with the offline character builder :)

Finally, if anyone has actually run War of the Burning Sky, I'd love any tips or pointers on the campaign itself.

DisgruntleFairy

Validated User
* All classes get the at least same number of trained skills (so the fighter is less sad)
At least 4 should work well. If you go higher that invalidates some of the other classes benefits.

I've played with some different stat arrays or extra build points. Just say highest starting stat can be 18 and only one stat can be 18 otherwise you get 6 extra attribute build points. It helps out people be a little more well rounded. Helps some classes work a little better. But it can make your PC's a little tougher too. So be aware.

Last edited:

awesomeocalypse

Validated User