• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[5th ed] Adjustments to running published adventures with only two characters

E.K.K.R

Validated User
So, in the possible near future I might run some D&D, only with just two players. I have no experience with 5th edition, though I do have some with 3.5 and Pathfinder.

My question: How much would two starting characters need to be buffed for them to have a chance of getting through a published adventure meant for four level 1 characters?

I am leaning towards the following adjustments:
  • Characters start with 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11 stat spread.
  • Characters start at level 2.
  • The hit die roll for level 2 is not rolled, instead it is the maximum possible.
  • Potions can be used with a Bonus Action.
  • Some fights would be adjusted by removing 1 or 2 "mook" enemies.
Would this give them a fighting chance, or would the action economy and capabilities of monsters be simply too heavily stacked against them?

Last edited:

Akrasia

Lord of Procrastination
Validated User
Why not simply have the players run two characters each (treating two as the 'primary' PCs and the other two as 'henchmen')?

Starcrash

Validated User
So, in the possible near future I might run some D&D, only with just two players. I have no experience with 5th edition, though I do have some with 3.5 and Pathfinder.

My question: How much would two starting characters need to be buffed for them to have a chance of getting through a published adventure meant for four level 1 characters?

I am leaning towards the following adjustments:
  • Characters start with 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11 stat spread.
  • Characters start at level 2.
  • The hit die roll for level 2 is not rolled, instead it is the maximum possible.
  • Potions can be used with a Bonus Action.
  • Some fights would be adjusted by removing 1 or 2 "mook" enemies.