Asking for Advice Abound

Ducky4u2

Validated User
Hello!

So I was directed here, and I wanted to get some advice. I have been playing RPGs for 20+ years, but have been running pregens the entire time. My players have been encouraging me to try my hand at creating my own content, though I think they vastly overestimate my abilities. I love them though, so I thought I would give it a try. What I find is I am getting stuck on where to start and how to develop the ideas into the mechanics of the game. I can run a story, but get lost when developing out the ideas an applying the mechanics. It is a form of creativity I struggle with. So, I thought I would reach out to others. I have four ideas currently running through my head, with the possibility of three systems. I have done some research into them, but the more I do the more lost I become. What I am looking for is:

• Advice on the system in question (Two of them I have played, but never ran, so pitfalls to avoid, concepts to keep in mind, advice on maintaining the pace, etc.).
  • Advice on how to go about developing the mechanics of the world (I will have some more specific questions with each idea).
  • Advice on creating encounters, including battle, puzzle, and social (This is in general, creative ways to make the experience fun for the players, I will provide an example from a great GM I played with).
I am greatly appreciative of any and all advice. Also, any questions for clarity on my end are welcome, I may not explain something correctly the first time, so please ask. So, without further ado, on with the ideas: