Automating an RPG

I'm working on my own RPG, a private project that has gone nowhere for years until I had a brush with cancer a couple of years ago. Since I also work in IT my aim is to handle the rules as software with a website initially, and apps later, for character generation, GM campaign management and player character actions. The aim is that the tools could be used for both a tabletop game with the tools supporting action resolution or for a remote game in real-time with chat or as a PbP style with the chat handled as posts.

Because the underlying system will have some complicated mechanics in parts the aim would be to hide much of that away from the players. The system doesn't preclude complicated actions nor allowing a GM to fudge or customize how an action should be resolved using skill x or skill y or using both or... whatever. I'd like to discuss that at another time but that's not why I'm here today.

I've seen some of the RPG software that's out there and some of it I've found some of it useful but more so when I understood the underlying game as well.

I don't want to write a computer game and I love the interaction around the table but I'd like to see how far the automation of RPG mechanics could be taken as an integrated set of tools. At this stage, my question is how important is it for you to have access to the rules for both generation and play as opposed to just help documentation for the tools? How important is it for you to be physically rolling dice and so on as opposed to simply stating your actions or clicking a button? What automation tools have you found useful? What should be automated more than it is right now?

monsmord

Grognard feature: DISENGAGED
Validated User
Having the complete ruleset available to me is extremely important, whether GMing or playing. I like dice, or other randomizers, but this is a secondary concern. The rules/mechanics will drive my enjoyment of play, as I prefer crunchy stuff to purely narrative games.