• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[Battletech] Getting started in Battletech?

Dirk Desiato

Gigan!
Validated User
Not for me, I have been playing Battletech since 1988 or so, but I want to run some demo games at me FLGS and the Introductory Box Set is currently OOP. What should I point to a new player to get? Most items seem to be .pdf files. Are they still making map packs?

(Oops! Too many "t"s in my heading...)

Last edited:

Kargush

Free range Norwegian snow monkey
Banned
Validated User
Re: [Batttletech] Getting started in Battletech?

I don't think they make map packs, but the old ones might still be tracked down online. As for the rest, Total Warfare for the rules, should be available in hardcover. They still make TROs, those might be useful if someone wants more toys to play with. Mech models, there's both the usual stuff from Ironwind Metals, and the cheaper (?) Alpha Strike mechs. They all look pretty bad. Some people use models from other lines (such as Macross mecha). Others again use chits. And some people 3d print based on models from the video games.

But rules first, miniatures second. There's also Alpha Strike if you want something that's faster to play (or so I hear).

orangefruitbat

Validated User

The introductory box should still widely available as it was reprinted in 2014. I know the Sentry Box in Calgary has it. They do mail order.

Not for me, I have been playing Battletech since 1988 or so, but I want to run some demo games at me FLGS and the Introductory Box Set is currently OOP. What should I point to a new player to get? Most items seem to be .pdf files. Are they still making map packs?

(Oops! Too many "t"s in my heading...)

Dirk Desiato

Gigan!
Validated User