• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

wirecrossing

illegal jokes
Validated User
I am a noob when it comes to OSR stuff. I have Whitehack, Swords and Wizardry Whitebox, Red and Pleasant Land and Yoon-Suin.

What I like about these products is that they place you in a time and context that you can be nostalgic for even if you did not live it. There is a magical quality to the writing and layout of all these things that is very immersive in a way I cannot quite put my finger on.

Anything else to look out for?

Flexi

The Solitary Knight
Validated User
Deep Carbon Observatory - probably the closest thing to poetry I've seen in an OSR product. The loopy love child of Heart of Darkness and D&D flowing down an odd, serpentine journey that gets stranger and stranger. Majestically weird.

ASE 1 &2 - Like Beneath the Planet of the Apes on acid. And nothing to do with the Simpson's version or the Marky Mark abomination. Well, maybe the former.......
Funny, deadly, curiouser and curiouser.

Some of the new DCC adventures have a wonderful old skool feel like Intrigue at the Court of Chaos or Sailors on the Starless Sea, especially the former where you get dumped right into the war between Law & Chaos at level 1.

Stonehell - well designed and very practical megadungeon. Very user friendly.

+1 for ACK. Makes me remember my times with BECMI/RC rules for taking your characters to a higher level and ruling dominions.

Last edited:

Ancalagon

Validated User
I must admit I'm not very familiar with the OSR. My only exposure so far to it has been Yoon-Suin, and I've been *blown away* by how evocative it is. I desperately want to run a campaign in it, although it will be in 5e.

I think in general great writing and adventure design is somewhat system agnostic.

Exeter

Validated User