• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Clarification on column

R

RPGnet Columns

Post originally by sean2099 at 2005-11-12 20:57:51
Converted from Phorums BB System

Mr. Brown,

I have a question about concerning why it is a bad to have a manuscript completely typed beforehand when you typed the query letter. Correct if I am wrong but I have heard that it is a good idea for a writer to "bank" a manuscript away just in case. Can you please explain why it is a bad idea to have some ideas saved on a hard drive or elsewhere?

I am new to the writing game and I am not understanding all of the considerations a publisher makes when he or she sees a query letter that says that the writer has idea X and has a completed manuscript available if the publisher is so inclined to look at it.

Thanks

Sean2099

R

RPGnet Columns

Post originally by Lloyd Brown at 2005-11-13 22:43:38
Converted from Phorums BB System

Hi, Sean.

What if you write a 90,000 Shadowrun supplement and FanPro turns it down?

Because it's based on an intellectual property they own, you have no other place to sell it (normally*). You've just wasted weeks or months of work.

Even with D20, you have to customize your work to the market, albeit less than you would for a different game.

In some cases, it's not a bad idea to have a manuscript already ready to go--short stories or even novels, for example.

If it's a short work (like an article), and you're pretty confident that you can sell it to a certain market, go ahead.