• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Clarification sought on Guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

SrGrvsaLot

Digital Scribe
Validated User
Recently, I got a bit of moderation in a long-running thread

It's been a bit of a stick in my spokes, to be honest. To be suddenly moderated for something I've been doing for close to 5 years (if you count the VGO thread that was basically the same thing). And to be clear, I'm not complaining. I understand the concern. But I'm not sure what I should do about it.

See, it seems there's been some misunderstanding here. I may not have made my intentions sufficiently clear. The order of causality is the opposite of what this bit of moderation seems to think it is - the blog exist because of the thread, not the thread because of the blog. I.e, I've been writing all of these blog posts specifically to post the links on rpg.net for years. Admittedly, I have occasionally dropped the odd link at other parts of the internet, but the balance is something like 95% rpg.net, 5% all other places combined.

So why bother with the middleman? I don't have a definite answer. It's something that felt like a good idea 5 years ago and that I've mostly been doing from inertia. Though, when I think about it, it does have several advantages that I'd hate to lose - mostly revolving around the fact that with a blog, I effectively have full mod powers over all my own work. (Also, and this wasn't something I consciously realized until I got this sudden bit of unexpected moderation, I've been enjoying the intellectual freedom of not having to answer to anyone but myself)