• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[DCC RPG] The Pale Kingdoms

Jorjowsky

Validated User
Today we played our first game of the Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG and, while it's way too early to tell if it's going to have real staying power with our group (we are fickle), we had so much fun I thought I should post an Actual Play report.

Some notes first:

Our Group

We are four players in total. There's me, my wife (Teeshy), my mother in law (Lady J) and a friend of ours (Mr. T. No, not that one). I am the DM, and the other three form the party of PCs.

Our experience with RPGs is... well, not particularly extensive, but we make do. I started playing in the early 90s, but after three or four years of infrequent play I had a decade-and-a-half-long hiatus from the hobby; at some point I started to collect games again and kept myself informed of what was going on with the hobby, but never got around to playing... Until I moved to Australia, got married and found more people to play with! With the above players (which had never played an RPG before!) I've run games of D&D 4e and the Dragon Age RPG, which were a lot of fun, as well as a bunch of boardgames in between story arcs. Awesome times!

Then about a year and a half ago, real life got in the way, and we stopped playing... until now. Lately I've been reading a lot of OSR games, blogs and posts, and I wanted to try something in that style. After much deliberation, I chose the DCC RPG and after asking the group if they would be interested in getting together again to play (hell yes!) I started to prepare a new campaign.

My Campaign

I'm calling my campaign The Pale Kingdoms because, you know... TPK. That's reason enough, right there. Amirite?