• The window for editing your posts has been extended from 48 hours to about two weeks or so. Please report any problems with this in Trouble Tickets.

Did 5E neuter the OSR movement.

Zzrryll

Validated User
Let me preface this post by saying that I’ve been collecting and playing RPGs for about 33 years.

In 2012/2013 I became aware of the OSR movement. At the time I was really excited to find resources like OSRIC, the slew of retro clone systems and all of their new and creative supplements, modules etc. It was amazing to be able to find new product, to support the old game systems that I grew up with, loved, and continued to play and collect well after their “retail” lifetime.

By 2015 or so I was listening to at least 3-4 podcasts that generally updated monthly. The OSR movement still seemed healthy at that point. There were several new products that had come out in the preceding 2-3 years, that sold well, and were well received.

But. Then by early 2016 or so...I noticed most of those podcasts essentially stopped. Or would only record intermittently. When they did episodes they tended to be less enthusiastic and have fewer “new” OSR products to discuss. By mid-2016 most of them had major cast changes or just stopped recording entirely.

My awareness of any new OSR stuff ceased at that point, as the overall chatter about new OSR products seemed to subside. I feel like I haven’t read a forum post dissecting an amazing new OSR module/supplement in quite some time. It seemed like those were more common in 2010-2014 or so.

It seems like the main “culprit” here is 5E. 5e is, apparently, OSR-like just enough to have brought folks that hated 3/4e, back into the fold. I know that personally I find it to be the best version of D&D since 2E.