[Exalted] how to set an Abyssal campaign

Kevin Perrine

Validated User
I am curious at ideas for how you might create an Abyssal campaign.

I have limited knowledge of the Exalted setting. I know of the types of Exalted, but i don't know a great deal of background, history or anything to hang a good syory on.

Ideas?

Isator Levie

Validated User
First there is what they are about. To quote the developer:

"Abyssals are legendary heroes whose magic evinces the bleak power of death - cruel death, death unconquerable, death triumphant, death that makes your life seem small - and the iconic magic of the Deathlords."

narm00

Validated User
Isator's quote sums up what Abyssals are going to be about, but how that manifests mechanically remains to be seen (in 2e, they were very much built around being (un)living weapons of Oblivion, and it was hard to play anything outside that).

Another thing is that the Abyssal milieu is getting changed up this edition, and we don't yet have a full view of what it's going to be like - we know the Deathlords and Underworld are getting overhauled for better playability, but not what form that takes.

More from the dev on the Underworld:

Main points of difference [from previous editions] include: A) It's a venue of interesting play for anyone and everyone, B) it's as big and varied as Creation, C) the Deathlords aren't the only regional powers who matter, D) Stygia's status quo is different (see C), E) the history of it is different, F) the psychogeography of it is different, G) the role of the Neverborn is different, etc.

You could find some eerie underworld kingdom where some random ghost prince is running a The Good Place scam, and absolutely none of the Deathlords or anyone from Stygia or any big names are involved in it, and that locale is enough to be the basis for an entire game.

Previous edition books aren't going to be totally useless, but at the same time, there will be significant divergences from them