• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[FATE-based games] How many Aspects is too many?

StanTheMan

Validated User
I'm running a Burning Wheel game now that'll probably end in a few months as we near the climax, and I've a thought to run...something...with Strands of Fate. At it's base, like many FATE games, Strands wants us to have like ten Aspects.

My question is - is ten Aspects a lot? I have some experience with FATE as a GM (I've run SOTC, Diaspora, and Strands, all for mini-campaigns) and had groups of 2 or 3 players, so didn't really pay attention at the time. It's been a few years now, and I'm wondering, is 10 too many?

Strands itself suggests going down to six Aspects. And I've heard the new FATE core now recommends five, if I remember correctly?

So folks? Thoughts?

The Benj

Validated User
Ten is too many. Five to seven is the sweet spot, I think. I'd probably err on the side of five.

That Old Tree

ಠ__ಠ
Validated User
While I'm not an old hand and got into Fate with the recent Kickstarter, I think that five or six are better than 10. It's not just about being easier to keep things in mind in-play, but I have definitely found that using more aspects can make characters a little fuzzier than you might want. Five or six can help you to focus on what's really important about the character.

Castille

MetaTemporal Adventurer
Validated User
Plus less for the poor GM to keep track if, especially in a big group. I like 5, it's usually enough to define a character outside of the skills and stunts.

Weisenheim

Baroque Space Orc Mage
Validated User