• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[Fate Core] Words of Power Magic System

Ironclient

Retired User
Hey! This is my first time posting to the forums, seems like a great community here. I was hoping for some insight on Fate Core's supplement Words of Power. The system's great at outlining how to build and cast spells but it's a little foggy on casting offensive spells.

Say I wanted to throw a fireball at an NPC during an exchange whose Will is Average (+1). I imagine it would be a Superb (+5) spell (Distance: 1 Element: 3 since you're summoning fire from nothing and add their Will: 1) My wizard makes the roll and successfully casts the spell, how many shifts does the target take? Has anyone thought of a way to figure this out? I imagine you could add another roll to see how many shifts you generate but that would slow the game down with additional rolling and then what is the opposition? Is it an active opposition from the target? Or is it a passive opposition based on another factor?

I could see using just your magic skill like any other attack skill and doing it that way, but then, what's the point of implementing Words of Power into your game world at all?

Any insight you guys might have would be appreciated!

gtroc

Jacob Possin
Validated User
Hey! This is my first time posting to the forums, seems like a great community here. I was hoping for some insight on Fate Core's supplement Words of Power. The system's great at outlining how to build and cast spells but it's a little foggy on casting offensive spells.