Game Mechanics Testing (Volunteers needed)

JerelLightning

Validated User
I’m a newbie that’s currently working on my own tabletop rpg. I’d like any volunteers to help me figure out my game mechanics with me. Since I’m a newbie advice other than what’s on topic is greatly appreciated, but should be kept at a minimum.

The setting for it is a Sci fi Space rpg, where terrans and hequns are in diplomatic conflict over territory.

The mechanic that I’ll be focusing on is my combat mechanic.

I’d like at least one person for a start, but more people will be nice later.

Thank you.

🔴 Warning - Read the Conduct sticky here
Let's see...

There are 3 big parts to making your own RPG:

* Designing a set of game mechanics
* building a word/setting
* making sure both parts do interlock nicely and allow you to tell the kind of stories you want to tell

So far you established for us a basic line to start from. We got SciFi, we got humans (Terrans) and some... sort of alien they fight.

Worldbuilding prompts I can throw at you from just that line are these: What do Hequns look like? Where did they evolve from? What kind of weapons do they use? What makes them different from humans? Do they speak a common language or has there never been diplomatic contact but only war? How long does the conflict last already? Are they superior or on equal with the humans? Why do they fight over territory? Space is VAST - are habitable planets such rare? Do they want specific resources only present on these conflict worlds? Are these planets strategically important in some way? Do they have FTL, if yes what kind?

In any case, I strongly suggest trying to get a hold of some version of GURPS Space. Read it, ignore all the rule parts and just focus on the information how they build worlds.

JerelLightning

Validated User
Let's see...

* making sure both parts do interlock nicely and allow you to tell the kind of stories you want to tell