Getting back into painting minis, after a fifteen year hiatus, and dealing with vision issues.

Rolzup

Dinoczar
Validated User
I used to be a fairly prolific painter of miniatures. A good one, if I may flatter myself, although not nearly good enough for competition. I didn't need to be that good; I painted because I enjoyed it, and because completing a miniature gave me a great feeling of accomplishment. It was an actual, physical creation: something of substance from someone who does a lot more thinking about things than actually doing them.

And then I had kids. I took what I thought would be a brief break, so as to not to risk having paint and lead and various chemicals on my hands while holding a baby. And besides, there was a baby to play with!

And so, fifteen years passed. I never quite had the time to paint, and when I considered it I found myself in the uniquely frustrating situation of wanting to want to paint. There was too much to do, and I told myself that I didn't have the time. Over this same span, my vision has deteriorated -- I've always been nearsighted, but for almost a decade now I've needed bifocals. And even with them, it's damned difficult to focus on small details even when I have them close.