• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

How much does it cost to buy an RPG property?

Iron_Man

Validated User
The lottery in my area is up to 40+ million. I wondered, idly, what it costs to buy an RPG property/trademarks? I'm not a valuation expert, so I guess it's some function of expected revenue and expenses.

In particular, I'd offer to purchase Ars Magica from Atlas Games. The game line is temporarily discontinued as it was losing money in the long term.

Chris Goodwin

not a robot
Validated User
The only one who could tell you would be whoever owns the property. And it's very doubtful they'd respond to a public query on a message board, or even a private email.

Probably the right tactic is to wait until you actually have the money in hand, and then get in contact with them. How much money? I think we're into "if you have to ask it's too much" territory.

Iron_Man

Validated User
The only one who could tell you would be whoever owns the property. And it's very doubtful they'd respond to a public query on a message board, or even a private email.

Probably the right tactic is to wait until you actually have the money in hand, and then get in contact with them. How much money? I think we're into "if you have to ask it's too much" territory.
Good points! I'm in no position IRL to buy IP.

adwyn

Validated User
While I've never brokered an RPG sale I do routinely deal with blue sky valuations. My guess would be if you total up the sales numbers of the last three to five years and assume a $1 per copy profit I find you will get a high value to most people's temptation level.

g33k

Banned
Validated User
I think Atlas has some ideas for a "Magicshoe" (Gumshoe Ars Magica) spin-off.