I have watched my first anime

Senex

Gunboat Diplomat
Validated User
That anime being Sword Art Online, through to the end of the Fairy Dance arc.

Now, looking online, it does seem to have its critics (for not entirely unfounded reasons), but I have enjoyed it. Can anyone recommend a good next move? The isekai element isn't essential, but something that similarly action-based would be great.

One proviso: I have to be able to view it in the UK. You can consider me a total newbie to anime, because easily-viewable anime hasn't really been much of a thing here outside Pokemon until quite recently

Coyote's Own

RPG.net's friendly neighborhood Nuwisha.
RPGnet Member
Validated User
If your entertaining watching movies: anything by Hayao Miyazaki.
"Proco Rosso" is my favorite and "Nausica of tye Wind Vally" is his most important work, but pretty much anything by the man is excellent.

Edit: Remember that Anime is medium/art style. Asking for anime recommendation is similar to asking for black-white movie and tv series.
You gonna get very diffrent genre recommendations.

Shay Guy

Validated User
Current super-popular TV action series aimed at that same rough demographic include Attack on Titan (horror-fantasy with humans fighting horrific naked giants) and My Hero Academia (boy without superpowers catches eye of world's greatest superhero).

I can't say for sure that they're available in the UK, but I'd be very surprised if they weren't. Try those, get a sense of where your tastes lie between those three, and we can probably figure out the next step from there.