Is this thing on?

Gwydion

I am #426
RPGnet Member
Validated User
I realized not that long ago that I’ve been running games for over three decades, depending on exactly what you count. Between that and some experiences as a player I’ve been thinking on the art of running games. Basically what works and what doesn’t. It occurred to me that common knowledge isn’t as common as I thought. It also occurred to that tips on how to run games are a bit thin on the ground. Every game has it’s “how to GM” section. But it tends to be focused on the mechanics of the game with a few tips on writing stories. There is Robin’s Laws, which is really good (no seriously go read it) but I’m not sure how many people have actually read it. And… that’s pretty much it.

So when the Blog feature was announced I thought maybe I’d try to write a few things. I don’t expect to tread much novel ground here. I’m experienced but hardly unique, so I’m sure a lot of you have come to similar conclusions (or will think I’m completely off my rocker). But not everybody is experienced and the way I learned it – screwing everything up by the numbers – is a lot easier to manage when you are twelve and your player’s don’t have any better idea what they are doing.