It is possible to use or adapt Pathfinder (and 3rd-party Pathfinder) spells in 5e?

LatinaBunny

Moody Bunny
Validated User
Hello, there! :) I'm still really new to GMing, and I'm going to GM a D&D5e game in a somewhat homebrewed setting using the Starter Set Lost Mine adventure plotlines, but reskinning the content, and also using Cerulean Seas Setting and Aquatic Adventures Pathfinder books to make the setting more aquatic in flavor.

I'm keeping it simple by following the modules and making some alterations in flavor and monster encounters here and there (using most aquatic monsters from Monster Manual, Volo's Guide, or homebrewing my own with reskins).

I was wondering if I can use some of the Cerulean Seas spells (many of which are reflavored Pathfinder spells) and Pathfinder spells into 5e as is? Or should I try to find their equivalents in D&D5e? Or adapt them somehow?

It seems some spells are more narrative-based (not a lot of hardcore number-math mechanics), so I'm guessing I can just add them in...?

I don't know how Pathfinder's spell system works. Are they similar to D&D with spell slots and spells per day and such? Are they more powerful or weaker than D&D5e's?

What about monsters? How are monsters in Pathfinder compared to D&D5e? If I wanted to use a Pathfinder monster, how much should I alter their stat blocks?

Any Pathfinder-to-D&D5e tips would be greatly appreciated, thanks! :D

Last edited:

DMH

Master of Mutant Design
Validated User
I was wondering if I can use some of the Cerulean Seas spells (many of which are reflavored Pathfinder spells) and Pathfinder spells into 5e as is? Or should I try to find their equivalents in D&D5e? Or adapt them somehow?
Not as is. Pathfinder/3.X spells are much more powerful and use very different assumptions. Ranges, durations, number of slots available to the casters are leagues apart.