Law vs Chaos

Samiel

Validated User
I am looking for creatures which incarnate Law (LN to be clear, not good or evil) as opposites of Slaads (CN).

What is there apart from Modrons and Inevitables?

Samiel

The Formians are a species of ant-like outsiders who live on Mechanus and Arcadia. They briefly replaced Modrons as the primary inhabitants of the Lawful Neutral plane in 3e :(.

I always liked the 4e incarnation of the Marut inevitables, where they're wandering astral mercenaries who keep scrupulous records. If you want to make Law cooler I'd upgrade them to Slaad nemesis.

Dr. Tran

...I'm NOT a Doctor!
Validated User
If you aren't opposed to other settings, Pathfinder has the Axiomites, the beings who created the Inevitables in their setting.

Kurotowa

Weird Science Nut
Validated User
Part of the trouble is that no one's ever really captured a good distillation of what "Incarnate Law" is. Modrons and Formians are representatives of Law as Hierarchy, but that's unsatisfying. I mean, even the Slaads have a hierarchy so it's not especially unique. Another issue is the very good question of whose law are they the incarnation of. The laws of angels and devils are massively incompatible. Inevitables try to sidestep this by invoking some sort of abstract Cosmic Law, but too often that leaves them only interested in boring abstract problems.

The perennial problem is that in the modern D&D cosmos Good and Evil are fairly well defined sides with clear motivations and traits while Law and Chaos are not. They haven't had a well defined role since way back in the Basic D&D and Greyhawk days when things were a lot more Moocockian and Mordenkainen's hardline Neutrality was a principled stand between equally hostile extremes.