[Let’s Read] Volo’s Guide to Monsters

NobodyImportant

Validated User
I’m a very pro-monsters kind of DnD fan. My favorite books of any edition are usually the ones that describe as many monsters as possible in as much detail as possible. In fact, it’s kind of what brought me in to being an active player - Bogleech’s article on how WotC were finally discovering the charm and whimsy that defined TSR monster design is what made me decide that hey, maybe this 5e thing is something worth checking out.

And it was. The 5e Monster Manual is my favorite core MM, due in large part to the way the monsters slot together to build a very genuine-feeling world. It’s not perfect - the descriptions of our lovable host of hostile sapient species could have used a little more work, for one - but reading through it is enough to give just about anyone a working understanding of the standard DnD setting, and I think that’s remarkable. Around the time I read it for the first time, I remember having a thought - I didn’t think I wanted another monster book filled with half-baked ideas and unrealized concepts. I wanted something that would really focus in on the world the MM had created, something that would take me out of a bird’s eye view and really show me arround this setting. Like the Draconomicon of previous editions writ large.

So, uh.

Volo’s Guide to Monsters is my favorite RPG supplement.

I must’ve read through this thing half a dozen times by now, and I want to share the joy it’s brought me with the rest of the board. In my opinion, Volo’s Guide realizes the monsters it contains better than any other book of its kind, be that as true horrors or as people with reasons they act the way they do. It has fascinated me, and I hope that I can help all of you find a little bit of that fascination, too.

I’ll be doing my best to update this daily but, you know, college. I won’t pretend I’ll be perfectly punctual. Tomorrow, we start off with the Prefix and opening lines.

Deliverator