• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[M:TG] Help new player understand why these 2 top decks work and are good!

Wytefang

Retired User
Still very new to M:TG and I'm wondering if someone would be so kind as to clearly, yet in a detailed fashion, explain to me why the decks I'm going to list below are 1) good decks, and 2) why and how they work?

(IMPORTANT - I'm new to the game. That means you'll have to avoid using weird slang or jargon unless you define what it means. If you just toss out the names of cards to explain your points, I'll probably lack the understanding or familiarity with those cards, needed to understand your points.)

1. Wolf Run Ramp ?

2. UW Delver ? (I have the Delver dude but fail to see how he makes for a good deck?)

Again, very new so please try to be clear and not too referential of previous decks or card types or card combos I'd not understand (unless you care to take the time to explain them so I can understand you better!). THANKS!! :)

Qetu

Chelonia Movet Sum
Validated User
If you don't know the cards, you can't understand magic decks.

Wolf Run Ramp: This kind of deck [archetype] plays mana accelerators in one way or another, ramping up to cast a huge series of spells to dominate the opponent.

UW Delver: This kind of deck plays cheap creatures in the first turns, then throws the opponent off their stopgap plan with spells.

AliasiSudonomo

Trying to be a bird
Validated User
First off, I suggest getting cozy with gatherer.wizards.com. Go ahead. We'll wait.

Secondly, for a little more detail:

Spoiler: Show

3 Acidic Slime
1 Birds of Paradise
2 Primeval Titan
4 Solemn Simulacrum
1 Thrun, the Last Troll
4 Viridian Emissary
4 Wurmcoil Engine
Creatures [19]
1 Garruk Relentless
Planeswalkers [1]
1 Batterskull
1 Devil's Play
4 Green Sun's Zenith
1 Mortarpod
4 Rampant Growth
3 Slagstorm
Spells [14]