• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

My first self published Tabletop RPG: I'm in over my head.

Mrdenom

Hello, first off I am New and sought out this forum specifically to reach out to the community and try to gain some much needed perspective. I've been cooking a game up mentally for a long time and kind of procrastinating about it but recently it all just started unfolding and I am confident I have a great idea that will be an engaging and wonderful experience for veteran RPG players. I started looking for artists to hop on board and take a chance at getting a foot in the industry alongside me. Now, however, I am absolutely terrified. I'm officially in charge of leading the design for this game and really I have zero experience making games. I truly have done a ton of research, I'm a veteran of almost 18 years of RPG nerdlove but I don't really understand the process. We are currently working on the proto type and it's just overwhelming I have an unbelievable amount of work on my desk and no clue where to start. the game was designed by theme vs mechanics and both were fully cooked. I don't want to just reveal the theme or mechanics because I am protective of my project but I assure you it incorporates the best of the best from popular mechanics while exhibiting an epic twist on the DM role. I can say this much, it is a raid based dungeon RPG with a level progression system and talent trees. If you were taking a game like WoW and making it a table top board game where the raids were the board and the key focus were boss fights where would you begin? Any help is appreciated. I am in over my head.

SoggyShoggoth

Validated User
Start with the "check" and know everything about how your dice work.