• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

New to the Site, Appealing to the Great Think Tank

Ducky4u2

Validated User
Hello!

So as the title suggests, I am new to RPGnet forums and I am still finding my way around. I did not see a post thread link in the particular forums I was looking for, so I am posting here and hoping for the best. Any advice would be welcome, thank you!

I guess a start would be I have been gaming for 20+ years at this point, primarily D&D, but have at least played in several others. However, I have always run pregen campaigns. The players like it, but they also want to see me try my hand at creating worlds. They believe in my creativity more than me, those wonderful ones. Needless to say, I am nervous, but I love my players and I am willing to try and get this old dog to learn some new tricks. I was playing around with a couple of different systems, but I want to learn navigation of the site. What I am hoping to find here, if possible, is:

• Advice for systems I have played but never ran (Mainly because I have four ideas I am trying to choose from)
  • Advice for ideas (I am pretty good at coming up with ideas, terrible at focusing or narrowing them, I get lost in the options, which is why I always ran pregen) to help me get going.
  • Advice for GMing (I can keep a good story, and taking the source material and bending it to my players is no issue, but being clever with mechanics is a problem, so making memorable encounters).
I am humbled to be here with so many of you wonderfully creative people, and I hope to get to know many of you. Also, I know ultimately it is up to me, and by no means am I trying to harvest other peoples ideas, but I know I can adapt my thought process, so a dialogue about the art of creating games would be useful.