Nobilis or Chuubo's?

wormmonda

#TwitterIsTransphobic
Banned
Validated User
So I'm interested in getting into a diceless RPG, and I know that Nobilis and Chuubo's are both diceless games (by the same designer, even); while I have some basic knowledge of the 2nd edition of Nobilis, I have no knowledge of the 3rd edition, and no knowledge with Chuubo's at all; so my main questions are these:

How are the systems of Nobilis 3E and Chuubo's similar or different, both being diceless games from the same creator?

What exactly is Chuubo's about? What kind of story does it tell? What kind of characters are the PCs? Any similar media?

Thanks!

Isator Levie

Validated User
How are the systems of Nobilis 3E and Chuubo's similar or different, both being diceless games from the same creator
Both use a collaborative system of action resolution, in which players have certain traits in which their narrative authority is somewhat absolute within the defined structure of that trait's level, and limited resources per story to extend that authority. Chuubo's is a lot broader in what kinds of narrative and dramatic devices it's traits can convey, and the system is much more intricate.

wormmonda said:
What exactly is Chuubo's about? What kind of story does it tell?
Being an inhabitant of a whimsical town in which the magical and mundane cheerfully, and somewhat awkwardly, co-habitate, isolated from the rest of the world (assuming it still exists) by the reality corrosive outside. Tell stories ranging from childhood slice of life to epic clashes of heros and gods, some of which can cross over (and where the advantage might go to slice of life). Stories where wishes can have profound power. Stories driven more by the narrative and emotional beats than tactical accomplishments.

wormmonda said:
What kind of characters are the PCs?
Almost anything you might want. There are a lot of guidelines for genre and personal nature.

wormmonda said:
Any similar media?