• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

🎨 Creative Personal project, novice game designer seeking advice

Scrundlefish

Hello everyone,
This is my first journey and post on RPG.net so I'm excited and hopeful to see what's in store for me here. Moving on

TLDR: Seeking advice on next direction for development, didn't want to post my whole project right away, but I'd love to share with anyone interested in providing feedback.

I have been developing a TTRPG system since late 2017 with much assistance from a close friend of mine Dan. I titled the project Legends and sought to create a classless system that provided the character with the freedom to assemble their skill sets from a number of "modular" talents in a hope to emulate a persons ability to learn a skill or ability merely by study (or other reasonable lore explanation). My driving passion in the early stages of development was creating a magic system with this idea of modular freedom in mind that threw the idea of a pre-written spells section out of the window. Beyond that I focused heavily on trying to develop a game that tackled what I refer to as HP Mountain, simplifying attributes, and making combat feel more reactive. I asked Dan to join me in the project shortly after developing the basic ideas I previously outlined, he joined to help me develop abilities and mechanics for martial characters but has managed to find a way to at least touch on every aspect of the game to assist in design.

How does the resolution mechanic function?
For now the game assumes that any action that is not opposed by another force succeeds. Otherwise, the game uses a contested d20 check adding a characters attribute bonuses and talent modifiers.

How we tackled HP Mountain