• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Qwixalted - a question to those who played it

Thomas Ufnal Crowlake

Validated User
As a relative Exalted noob, I only recently discovered Qwixalted. It seems pretty awesome, but one thing is bugging me. Even the least competent Exalted (Trait at 1) with enormous complications against them always has 50% chance of succeeding, and even a moderate competence leads to a huge probability of success. So I wanted to ask people who actually tried playing Qwixalted - does this high rate of success actually emerge as a problem when you play? How many complications do you use and does it lead to the GM having to find additional problems to make any task at least a bit challenging? Does anybody use the optional houserule from the wiki which makes the complications add required successes instead of reducing dice numbers?

ANT Pogo

Yuki Approved
Staff member
RPGnet Member
Validated User
I've been thinking about running Qwixalted myself, so I'm also interested in hearing about other people's experiences with it.

Chaomancer

CotTS High Magician
Validated User
It's been a long time since I ran Qwixalted, so my memory for why I eventually abandoned it is somewhat hazy, but the fact that the PCs basically succeeded at everything was one of the issues I remember. It was very difficult to actually challenge them!

Jarvis

Gamer & Amateur Designer
Validated User
Oh man... Qwixalted was a LONG time ago. From what I can remember, I was going for ease of play and a midpoint between the lightness and simplicity of the original quickstart and the crunchy meat of 2E.