🎨 Creative Really on the fence with two setting ideas (and the answer isn't both)

Kneller

Validated User
I've been homebrewing games for group play for probably about 15 years. Up until now, I'd always design a system with a setting in mind, or come up with a setting along with the system with which I'd like to run it. For the first time, I've developed a system but have two setting ideas for application, and I'm really tossed as to which to run with. I want to go with one and only one for the sake of time and getting it to the table. I haven't pulled together a new group to run it (I recently moved to a new area), but I want to have it built before I even try.

A couple important aspects of the system. It works really well with a round robin style GMing. There are mechanics/rules to provide all players space without stepping on each other's toes. There is a tactical combat system, but it's extremely fast and simplified (like, not even a battlemap) and lends itself to an approach that isn't just trying to kill the enemies (i.e there are mechanics for simply defending a position, keeping an enemy at bay, or covering a retreat). Outside of combat, it's pretty rules-light but well-balanced in terms of characters, and oriented towards fast play,

Traditional Lovecraft, with a Twist. So, this is the classic 1920s jazz age prohibition era Mythos game. The twist for it is that there is no canon Lovecraftian mythos. This is largely inspired by the whole legal snaufu with the rights to the Mythos (at least here in the states) and Lovecraft's own philosophy that he wanted other writers inspired by the Mythos to create their own. The round robin GM toolkit can help with this to make creating the Mythos relatively easier and fun for everyone. So, while people may be familiar with the era, the actual Mythos will be completely new to them.