• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Running Masks for the first time

SaneCharlie

Validated User
So I’m soon to be the GM for a group playing Masks. I haven’t played or run it before, and nobody in the group has played it either so although I’ve run some other RPGs before, I’m a little uncertain. Specifically, I know this system is very character-driven, and I’ve seen before how those sorts of games can sometimes get a bit bogged down.
Those who have played or run Masks before, do you have any recommendations or suggestions for what I should keep in mind as I run it?

CarpeGuitarrem

Blogger and gamer
Validated User
Sure! I've been running a Masks campaign for...I guess it's somewhere around the 20 session range now? And I've played in a few sessions myself. Although I've had a lot of experience and comfort with that style of game before.

1: ask players questions, ask them loads of questions! The rule of thumb I follow is that if someone has a playbook, you should treat that player like the expert in that area. The Outsider player is your alien expert, the Janus player is your expert on civilian life, the Doomed player is your expert on their Nemesis and everything related to them. If you're not sure about something, feel free to defer it to the players and ask "hmm, what do you think X is like?" Ask them about people, about different little details, because that all invests them in Halcyon City (or if you choose to set it somewhere else) and takes a bit of the load off of you.

2: make sure to read the GM section of the book! It's incredibly comprehensive and has a lot of actual discussion on how to run the game. Very good advice, and it walks you through a ton of stuff.