• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

[Sell Me On/Off] Modiphius 2d20 System

FaerieGodfather

Shroompunk Warlord
Validated User
Having borne witness to Dan Davenport's Q&A with our beloved Jack, concerning Modiphius' upcoming RPG adaptation of John Carter of Mars, and knowing that Modiphius has previously published Conan and Star Trek using essentially the same rules, I am suddenly intensely curious as to the relative merits of the system in its different implementations.

I think I more or less understand the core mechanic-- add two traits and roll 2d20. Any die that's lower than the sum is 1 success, and any die that's lower than the lower value is 2 successes, and you can bank successes as Momentum.

But what do the different games do with this? What's the gameplay like, how are the games different?

Dr. Tran

...I'm NOT a Doctor!
Validated User
From what I understand the core is slightly different than what you are saying. You add two numbers and roll at least 2d20. Anything under those two numbers is one success, but it is anything under your FOCUS that is two successes. In Star Trek that focus is equal to your discipline number, but the roll has to relate to one of your six (?) focuses. I believe that in Conan/Infinity the focus is a separate number you purchase for a particular skill and is generally much lower than Star Trek or John Carter.

TrvShane

Stumblin' around the net...
Validated User
Please consider this a placeholder for a more detailed answer when I get home later.