• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Strands of Fate vs other Fate games

Default 108

Validated User
I'm kind of new to the whole Fate system so I was wondering. I wanted to run The Dresden Files RPG and then I saw the Strands of Fate is slightly different version of Fate. Since I constantly see you good folks praising Strands of Fate I was wondering if I should run The Dresden Files RPG as it is or should I just use the setting and run it in Strands of Fate.

I noticed there are a few games with Fate that aren't from the Strand of Fate category and if anyone else chose to do this or just ran the original format.

GoldenH

Darmok & Gilad at Tenagra
Validated User
Strands is a more generic game, so while you could certainly run Dresden with it, Dresden's already done all the work of modding the system to fit with the setting conceits.

dbm

Validated User
You could do Dresden Files with Strands of Fate - it gives you all the tools you would need, though re-creating the Dresden magic accurately might take a fair chunk of effort.

On the other hand, Dresden Files is a very popular iteration of FATE3 and it has been crafted to specifically emulate the feel of The Dresden Files.

So I would say - if you can only afford to buy one system, or can only stand to learn one system, then SoF is a good option because it can do a wide range of settings. But if you can afford both or aren't especially interested in doing things that Dresden the game can't (and it a very flexible implementation of FATE in its own right) then buy Dresden, or best of all, both.

Mechalus

Validated User
As the author of Strands of Fate, I'll be the first to say that you can't beat The Dresden Files RPG for running Dresden. It's good, very good.
I'd go so far as to say it's the best use of a license in an RPG I've seen.