• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

SWOT Analysis

Karro

Validated User
I found your abbreviation of "Seeing what's out there" to be particularly interesting in the context of this article.

As a business school graduate, I recogonize the acronym SWOT as "Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats". In business, the purpose of a SWOT analysis is supposed to be an honest appraisal of a company's strengths and weaknesses, and an assessment of the opportunities and threats in the market that the company can take advantage of or should plan for. (Having said that, in real life, IME, SWOT analyses are rarely "honest", but are opportunities for trumpeting a company's self-perceived strengths while minimizing investor concerns.)

As a Freelancer, taking the opportunity to "See What's Out There" can be very like an honest SWOT Analysis. If a freelancer thinks of him/herself as the Business in question and does an honest analysis of his or her abilities and determines what he does well and where he needs to improve, what conditions in the market he faces, what publishers are currently buying and what they eschew, he would be better equipped to actually write something salable.

Then again, despite having spent four and a half years earning my BBA, whenever I put on my "writer" cap, I tend to forget these valuable lessons. I think I'm not alone among unpublished writers in allowing ourselves to ignore these insights, and I rather think that it is the published who have taken these ideas to heart, in one form or another. I ought to live by my own advice ;) I'll think I'll complete a SWOT analysis for myself this week.