• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Tekumel vs. Talislanta

Talislanta vs. Tekumel

• Talislanta

Votes: 60 37.0%
  • Tekumel

Votes: 79 48.8%
  • "T" is for "Traveller." No elves!

Votes: 12 7.4%
  • Wait a minute! "Glorantha" doesn't start with a "T"!

Votes: 23 14.2%
  • Other

Votes: 6 3.7%

• Total voters

seneschal

Banned
Both are highly detailed off-beat fantasy settings from the early days of role-playing and have been through multiple editions. Both have fanatical fans willing to take on all comers. Both give Tinkerbell and Co. the boot. Both start with a "T." One is free and the other is out of print.

Compare and contrast! :D

PaladinCA

The ONLY way to be sure.
Validated User
I'd choose Talislanta. But I have no experience with Tekumel at all. I've heard it can be "complicated." :cool:

Dulahan

Validated User
Talislanta, while interesting to the extreme, is still a rather light setting other than sheer number of races.

Tekumel? Takes the weird, turns it up to 11. And casts it in the light of a setting built by an actual scholar. The setting books (At least Swords and Glory) read like VERY good Anthropology books, if not flat out ethnologies and histories. It is a world with an amazing atmosphere. It might be more than a lot of people want, but for those willing to put the time into it, it's beyond awesome.

Elder Evil

Lurking Horror
Validated User
Talislanta is nice and all, but compared to Tekumel? No contest. Tekumel is up there with Middle Earth and Glorantha. Demanding, though, for GM and players. Talislanta is much more accessible. And it is a fun read. It just doesn't make, ya know, sense.

Silverlion

Banned
I chose Talislanta, because it opens up doors for mad adventures.