Tell me about RIFTS

Biohazard

mostly lurking
Validated User
Now with all the hype around SW RIFTS, it might be the right time to ask TRO to tell me about rifts.
I opened an extra thread because my question is (somewhat) SW independent.

So, under the assumption that I know next to nothing about rifts (though I read the flame wars in years past :D), this thread is hopefully a good way to win over rifts newbies (like me) or maybe scare them away.

Can you maybe tell me a little bit about the setting (maybe halfway current if meta plot is a thing) and what example sessions could look like. I know that it seems to be so wild, that a session could be everything, but maybe there is a standard session. Or maybe an adventure everyone ran or played in.

In any case, I'm looking forward to getting some info on the goodness that rifts seems to be. People disliking it -but maybe not on a system basis- should also feel free to join in.

Last edited:

HappyDaze

Banned
I'm not an expert, but basically a bunch of dimensional rifts open up on a futuristic Earth and allow all sorts of stuff to bleed in. Some of it is localized, which is why so many of the different locations (North America, South America, etc.) each have their own flavor of weird. There are combinations of high-tech, magic, psionics, and outright alien beings...and that's just in the PC party.

Blackwingedheaven

Crystal Human
Validated User
Rifts a gonzo post-apocalyptic setting full of everything you thought was awesome when you were thirteen and (as Sean Patrick Fannon put it) a fully weaponized kitchen sink. =3