• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

The future of GURPS

Wei

Validated User
I’ve been playing GURPS for about 20 years now, and I remember the time when it was one of the most popular systems, at least among my friends and colleagues, here in the UK. It’s clear that the community is getting smaller, you don’t see as many add-ons as you used to, even the Pyramid is gone now. There is almost no advertising, Munchkin seems to be getting all the attention instead, and in general, I don’t think that GURPS is going in the right direction.

Do you think that it still has a future and innovativeness in it? I absolutely love it and I hate to see my dear system dusty on the metaphorical shelf.

Adam Reynolds

Validated User
It's really ironic that you post this at the same time as someone else posted a thread about exactly the opposite. Though I think you are much closer to correct.

The problem today is that there is much more competition than there has ever been before. So GURPS clearly has a declining market share, because there are so many other games coming out in the first place. Most of which are generally dedicated to a particular setting and type of gameplay. So if you want gritty military combat there are a half dozen dedicated systems. If you want post apocalyptic play there are another half dozen I can think of. If you want a fairly easy to run generic game there are examples like Fate or Savage Worlds.

The biggest thing GURPS has going for it is the volume of reference materials, something no recent game seens interseted in trying to beat. Unfortunately that works both ways, as it is also a barrier to entry.

Wei

Validated User
Sorry, I have no idea how I’ve missed that one. You can close this topic if you want.

Sleeper

Red-eyed dust bunny
Validated User