• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Using Fantasy Grounds for Face-to-Face?

Doc_Klueless

Doors and Corners
Validated User
The FG kickstarter has got me really excited. I've been using FG for >10 years. Recently, I've gotten news that my group is moving back home just as I did. I've noticed that some have mentioned that they use FG for their face-to-face games. I have a few questions:

How does that work?
What is your set up?
How WELL does it work?
Etc.

Thanks for your time!

Dromio

Validated User
I've used it for Face to Face. It's a good way to display maps and move counters around, if you can lay a display flat. Honestly though I really liked it for the combat tracker and character sheet references. All the spells, weapons, etc. are just right there; no digging around in books or searching PDFs.

I thought I remembered an article on this, but didn't find it. I did find a video though!

:)

Gaglug

Validated User
In my experience, using FG face to face works very well. Especially for things like 5E and Pathfinder that are a bit crunchy and have tactical maps for combat.

I actually started using FG for face-to-face games as a DM aid. Initially it was to just help cut down on paper clutter. I ran my games at a friends house and kept having to lug more and more stuff with me. Eventually it got to be a heavy bankers box full of books, accessories, and minis as well as a large white board for a gaming surface I could write on. As I got older (fatter/lazier) that got less and less appealing to drag all that stuff around every week. So going to PDF for books and using a VTT to replace the whiteboard/minis was clearly the way to go.