• The Infractions Forum is available for public view. Please note that if you have been suspended you will need to open a private/incognito browser window to view it.

Well I am a published writer and I disagree

R

RPGnet Columns

Post originally by The Scribe at 2005-07-13 08:55:10
Converted from Phorums BB System

First off I am a ghostwriter and I have written many books for other people. I have never written under my own name and for right now I like it that way. I understand the need to get paid for your work but from my experience in real world publishing its a different monster altogether. I regularly receive .07 cents a word and 20% royalties for my writing efforts. The books I write you can get paid well and it not be an issue. But, I started as a writer who worked for free for about 6 years with my primary income coming from a normal 9 to 5 job.

Now I understand that the articles author thinks his material is worth .05 cents a word and he probably gets around this amount on a regular basis. That's fine for him but for many others who are just starting they will never see that. IF you know someone in the RPG publishing industry you have a much better chance of getting your .05 cent holy grail. But for people who do not know anyone it is almost impossible without sucking up and kissing butt. This I would never suggest to anyone unless you like doing that kind of thing.