What's Your Experience With Virtual Tabletop Applications?

wormmonda

#TwitterIsTransphobic
Banned
Validated User
I'm aware that there are several virtual tabletop applications out there, from free online sites like Roll20 to paid software like Fantasy Ground; since I've recently dropped out of my RL gaming group (long story), I was wondering if they would be a good way to game with my online friends instead. Does anyone have any experience or insight on any such software or service that you wouldn't mind sharing? Thanks!

bottg

Validated User
I have been using Fantasy Grounds now for about 10 years i think. We play a weekly game of 4-5 hours a time and have even run full weekend games.

For something like D&D5e, Savage Worlds etc where you have a fully automated ruleset, it is much faster than face to face. Once you are all OK with how it works, an attack is rolled and all modifiers are included. If you hit, appropriate damage is applied taking into account spells etc. And if you buy a pre-loaded adventure, all maps are there, encounters etc.

It does cost money (although you can subscribe to the base application on a monthly basis) and i have spent several hundred pounds over that time, but given that we have played several thousand hours of gaming for that, it is a bargain.

If there is not a commercial (or fan made) ruleset, Morecore allows you to do most things, although this requires a little more time to set it up.

Overall though, it has allowed me to game whilst living a long way from my group and probably any rpg group.

John Out West

Validated User
Roll20.net is solid and free. It was better when it had in-game music, tho.

I play card-based RPGs exclusively now, so I use PlayingCards.io now, which fulfills most of my card needs.

Tyrnis

Validated User